Skip to content

Blackberry Cheesecake

April 22, 2011

 I have made a lot of different cheesecakes with various toppings and flavors. But this is my first blackberry cheesecake. Which doesn’t even make sense – since blackberry is my favorite berry. I think I’ve mentioned this before – the country house my grandmother has in the boonies of Russia, where she grows everything – but most importantly blackberries (which I absolutely love to pick off the plant and eat non-stop). I thought this cheesecake was magnificent and the blackberry sauce was absolutely divine. Just the color of it alone – dark, strong, vibrant. I think I want to take a closer look. 

Yep, the sauce was just perfect. And honestly, it doesn’t even taste like blackberries, which leads me to think that even blackberry hates (D for one) will enjoy this cheesecake. I made this a few weeks ago when my parents came to visit – my dad’s birthday had just passed and with blackberries also being his favorite (sorry mom – I am my father’s daughter) I knew a blackberry cheesecake would be appropriate. On the presents side I could not live up to the expectations – I mean, what do you get a man, your father, for his birthday? Massage package? Tickets to Mamma Mia? No and no. A nice shirt? Sure, but who really cares for those anyway? Books? Boring. I do admit I did actually go with books and a shirt. I guess there’s always next year to come up with something brilliant. Anyhow, to redeem myself from those not so impressive gifts, I made this cheesecake. And redeem myself I did.

Blackberry Cheesecake

Recipe adapted from The Pioneer Woman

Serves: 8-16 (will you be having 1 slice or 2?)

Start to Finish: 12 hours (you’ve got to wait for the cheesecake to cool!)

Ingredients:

40-50 Vanilla Wafers

1/2 cup pecans

6-8 tablespoons butter

1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla

24 oz cream cheese, room temperature

1 1/2 cups sugar

4 eggs, room temperature

1/2 cup sour cream

12 oz blackberries

1/2 cup sugar

2 tablespoons water

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a food processor pulse together graham crackers and wafers until they become crumbs. Add melted butter and vanilla and pulse a few times, just until combined. Pat crumbs on the bottom (and up the sides, if you prefer) of a 10 inch springform pan.

2. Beat cream cheese and 1 1/2 cups sugar until smooth. Add eggs, beating after each one, just until incorporated. Add sour cream, beat just until combined. Pour mixture over crust.

3. Bake for 70 minutes. Turn off oven, prop the door open, and leave cheesecake in there for 15 minutes. Remove and cool at room temperature for 2 hours before placing in the fridge overnight.

4. To prepare blackberry sauce combine blackberries, water and 1/2 cup sugar in a saucepan. Over medium-high heat bring mixture to a boil and cook for 5-6 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool down a little bit.

5. Pour blackberry sauce over cheesecake.

No comments yet

Leave a comment