Skip to content

Prosciutto Bread Sticks

April 16, 2011

First off I have to admit that I absolutely love prosciutto. And luckily for me there’s an amazing wine and cheese shop right down the street from me – Calvert Woodley (in case you’re familiar with it). Of course at $22 a pound I can’t afford to eat it at every meal – but there are occasions for it. And when my parents came to visit (who also love prosciutto) I felt it was the perfect occasion for a purchase. And I figured that 1 pound would last us a good long while – not the case – the 4 of us (D included) gobbled up all the prosciutto within 2 days. Probably half a pound of it we ate with these breadsticks  (which I also bought at Calvert Woodley). I served this for breakfast (which was actually more like brunch since we didn’t finish eating until 1pm) but these would be great for a dinner appetizer as well. I mixed the ricotta with the goat cheese to make it more of a spreadable cheese and then added chopped sundried tomatoes and spinach leaves. A great flavor combination. And easy to grab (thanks to those breadsticks). Overall a great combination of  all the food groups – dairy, vegetable, grain, protein and fruit (if that’s what you count a tomato as). I didn’t really measure anything out as I made this but I’m sure you get the idea and can come up with your own proportions of each ingredient.

Prosciutto Bread Sticks

Recipe adapted from All That Splatters

Serves: 4

Start to Finish: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

thin bread sticks, broken in half

1/2 pound prosciutto

a few sun dried tomatoes, chopped

a few spinach leaves

a few spoonfuls of ricotta

a few spoonfuls of goat cheese

a couple squeezes of a lemon

lemon pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. Combine ricotta and goat cheese until smooth. Add sundried tomatoes, lemon juice and lemon pepper.

2. Take a piece of prosciutto and spread some cheese mix over it, place a spinach leaf on top and roll this around 2 thin bread sticks.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2011 3:59 am

    hello There, thank you for the great quality of your blog,
    and the inspiration to love healthy foods each time i come
    here, i’m amazed.

    -Kathy
    http://www.healthandwellnessconsultants.com

  2. April 18, 2011 9:09 pm

    Sounds fun to me .. perfect for party !

  3. April 21, 2011 6:59 am

    This is a snack my husband will love. Thanks for the recipe. I will make it for sure!!

    • April 21, 2011 2:01 pm

      Thanks! Feel free to play around with the quantities and even the ingredients — let me know if you try out any good combinations!

Leave a comment