Skip to content

Funnel Cakes

April 24, 2011


Aside from the Daring Kitchen I am now also a member of Taste and Create. With Taste and Create each month you are paired with another food blog and your assignment is to make something from that blog. This month I was paired with No Reason Needed and I decided to make funnel cakes. I absolutely love funnel cakes. They just bring me back to middle school in New Jersey – where I feel like funnel cakes were present at every sporting event and carnival/fair. How could you not love funnel cakes? Spiderweb shaped dough that’s deep fried and sprinkled with sugar. Perfection? I think so. It’s been a while since I’ve made funnel cakes so today was the perfect occasion and I must say they were delicious.

Funnel Cakes

Recipe from No Reason Needed

Serves: 4

Start to Finish: 15 minutes

Ingredients:

1 egg

2/3 cup milk

2 tablespoons sugar

1 1/4 cup flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/3 cup water

vegetable oil, for frying

confectioner’s sugar

Directions:

1. In a bowl beat together egg and milk.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients and beat until smooth.

3. Heat oil in pan or skillet (1-2 cups) and when the oil is hot enough (can test it by sprinkling some flour over it and making sure it sizzles) pour batter (1/3 cup at a time) using a funnel or ziplock bag with the tip cut off. Fry for 1 minute per side and drain on paper towels.

4. Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2011 9:57 pm

    Glad you enjoyed the funnel cakes!!!

    Haven’t forgotten about T&C. With the Easter weekend many things have been put aside. Hopefully first thing next week I will be working on my taste and create dish.

  2. May 12, 2011 3:25 am

    You produced a really nice blog, i enjoy here.

Leave a comment