Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash with Almonds, Feta and Cranberries

March 7, 2012

In my latest grocery shopping adventures I decided to make my very first spaghetti squash purchase. Being the skeptic that I am I seriously doubted that the inside of this football like vegetable could really resemble spaghetti strands. As you see from the picture it really does though. What a strange vegetable, but a pretty delicious one. I was browsing through a bunch of spaghetti squash recipes and came upon one with an intriguing combination of flavors – and that’s the recipe I went with – slightly adapted to compensate for the ingredients I had on hand. This recipe is a keeper. Makes for the perfect light dish – it may look like pasta, but has nowhere near as many carbs nor calories.

Spaghetti Squash with Almonds, Feta and Cranberries

Recipe Adapted From Savoring the Thyme 

Serves: 6

Start to Finish: 80 minutes

Ingredients:

1 spaghetti squash

2/3 cup dried cranberries

1/2 cup slivered almonds, toasted

2/3 cup feta, diced

handful basil, slivered

2 cloves garlic, minced

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/4 cup olive oil

salt, pepper

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Using a knife pierce holes all over the spaghetti squash (so it doesn’t explode in the oven). Place squash on a pan and bake for 1 hour.

2. In a bowl whisk together the olive oil, red wine vinegar, salt, pepper and garlic.

3. Allow squash to cool for 15 minutes then cut the squash in half, scoop out the seeds and surrounding fibers and discard. Using a fork shred the insides of the squash — the strands will start to resemble spaghetti.

4. In a bowl combine the shredded squash with the dressing, feta, cranberries, almonds and basil. Toss to combine.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2012 7:28 pm

    This looks beautiful, what a great combination of ingredients.

  2. March 7, 2012 7:37 pm

    Hi! I like this recipe and am very impressed with your ingredients–especially since it’s your first time making spaghetti squash! How did you know to use the almonds, feta, and cranberries? I’ve been cooking spaghetti squash for years and have never thought of it. I simply must make this! Buzzed!

    • March 9, 2012 8:22 am

      I found a spaghetti squash recipe online (the one linked right above my posted recipe) and it used almonds, feta and cranberries so I just added the basil and used slivered instead of sliced almonds!

  3. March 7, 2012 8:35 pm

    Thank you for trying the recipe and linking to me!!

  4. March 7, 2012 9:00 pm

    1. This looks delicious
    2. AWESOME pics 🙂

  5. March 14, 2012 6:54 pm

    I so wanna try spaghetti squash! I have never seen a squash around here… and I love your recipe, nice mix of flavours!

    • March 15, 2012 8:18 am

      It really is such a strange vegetable — I hope you find it eventually and get to try it!

Leave a comment