Skip to content

Almond Parsley Rice Pilaf

May 24, 2012

Rice should technically be pretty easy to prepare. It’s just rice and water – how complicated can that be? Yet in practice it actually is difficult to get the perfect texture and consistency of the rice. If you do it wrong you’ll end up with a mushy gloopy mixture which is just unpleasant to look at, let along put in your mouth.

What I love about rice pilaf is that it’s a lot easier to get it right. For some reason toasting the rice in the pan and mixing it with other ingredients before adding in the liquid always seems to produce a better texture in the final product. This is my go to rice pilaf recipe – one that I always pair with my broiled chicken with artichoke hearts (another keeper).

Don’t mind the water droplets on the plate — I was taking this photo on my balcony after work and with the daylight hours slipping away I couldn’t let the rain stop me.

Almond Parsley Rice Pilaf

Recipe Adapted from The Food Network

Serves: 4

Start to Finish: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons butter, divided (use olive oil if vegan)

1/2 large onion, diced

1/3 cup slivered almonds

1 cup long grain rice

2 cups chicken broth (vegetable broth if vegan)

salt, pepper, to taste

handful fresh parsley, chopped

Directions:

1. Over medium heat melt 2 tablespoons butter (or oil) in a pot. Add onions. Cook until translucent, stirring occasionally.

2. Add almonds and cook until starting to brown, stirring occasionally.

3. Add rice, cook and stir 1-2 minutes.

4. Add chicken (or vegetable) broth. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to low, cover and simmer 15-20 or until rice is cooked through.

5. Add parsley and 1 tablespoon butter and fluff with a fork.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 8:54 pm

    Very tasty. I love the almonds in rice.

  2. May 25, 2012 12:02 am

    Lovely rice!

  3. May 25, 2012 12:13 pm

    Simple and versatile sides like this are always fantastic recipes to have. This one looks so inviting, and it could really pair well with anything.

    • June 11, 2012 4:57 pm

      I agree with you completely. I always pair this with the broiled chicken thighs but it really would go well with anything.

  4. May 29, 2012 5:56 am

    Your pilaf looks wonderful!!

    Rice pilaf reminds me my year in the UK. I had a pakistani flatmate who was cooking pilaf at least twice a week. She always kept a a portion for me, I loved her pilaf. I have never dared to make it myself, I think I would spoil that memory…

    • June 11, 2012 4:56 pm

      Thanks! I need to branch out and start making different rice pilaf dishes – I always resort to making this one. I’m sure the Pakistani pilaf was delicious!

Leave a comment