Skip to content

Daring Cooks May 2012 – Boeuf Bourguignon

May 14, 2012

This month’s daring cooks challenge was to make Julia Child’s boeuf bourguignon. I hadn’t even heard of Julia Child before the Julie and Julia movie came out, but since then I’ve browsed through her numerous cookbooks and even read her memoir My Life in France, practically drooling over the meal descriptions.  Seeing as how this is one of her most famous dishes I’ve wanted to make this for a while, but without a clear cut assignment ahead of me I’ve always found excuses and procrastinated tackling this dish. Though the length and expensive ingredient list can be discouraging the final result is worth both the money and the effort.

Though D and I have essentially stopped eating red meat (apparently I am an incredibly impressionable person because after Omnivore’s Dilemma and countless articles online I’ve drastically changed my daily food decisions) I figured I would make an exception for this recipe. Four hours and a hike through the Rock Creek Park later (is it bad that I leave the house when the oven is on for hours?) dinner was ready. And what a delicious meal it was. Who knew that those incredibly annoying to peel pearl onions could taste like little balls of goodness after a sautee and simmer in beef broth? I knew the beef would be incredibly tender – after 3+ hours of cooking how could it not be, but I wasn’t imaging the complexity and depth of flavor in the sauce. The color alone – more of a deep purple than a dark brown, was incredible. Naturally I licked my plate clean – and then went for seconds…. and thirds…

A truly magnificent recipe, and I look forward to delving deeper into Julia Child’s world of cooking.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 1:46 am

    Lovely!

  2. May 15, 2012 7:15 am

    :)))) I licked my plate too. :))) I have my new favorite meal. Your BB looks amazing.

    • May 21, 2012 3:38 pm

      Thanks so much! I was impatiently taking the photos so I could finally sit down and try it!

  3. May 16, 2012 1:17 am

    I too try to eat less red meat but this was worth the exception
    Beautiful picture and a great job on this challenge

    • May 21, 2012 3:37 pm

      Thanks! I was really excited for this challenge since I’ve wanted to make this recipe for a while!

  4. May 16, 2012 8:39 am

    looks stunning! Fair enough you walked before, works up a good appetite 🙂

  5. May 16, 2012 6:32 pm

    Sometimes I’m so far behind on recipes…I had never heard of beef bourguignon until I saw that crazy haired lady make it on the Food Network. It looks soooo good. I love that you’ve made such a classic Julia Childs recipe. I will definitely give it a shot when I work up the courage. I bet it was worth the long cook time!

    • May 21, 2012 3:36 pm

      Haha I know exactly who you’re talking about! It definitely was worth the effort and it easily feeds 6 or makes easy leftovers!

  6. May 17, 2012 3:02 pm

    Great job! Your BB looks perfect, I bet it was an awesome meal after hiking all day!

Leave a comment