Skip to content

Daring Bakers April 2012 – Armenian Nazook

April 27, 2012

This month’s daring bakers challenge was Armenian themed. The mandatory component was to prepare either nazook or nutmeg cake. Since in the realm of sweets I generally dislike cakes I went with the nazook – an Armenian pastry filled with vanilla and sugar. I printed out the recipe, placed in neatly on the counter and set to work – yet somehow I managed to misread multiple parts of it. Does that ever happen to you? You feel like you’re reading something but then all of a sudden realize you didn’t absorb any information and can’t remember a thing. Well that’s how following this recipe went for me. Guess I must have been in heavy day dreaming mode. What did this lead to? I ended up adding a whole stick of butter to the filling instead of 6 tablespoons, forgot to sift the flour for the filling, didn’t pat down the second dough roll, only added 1/2 teaspoon vanilla instead of a whole teaspoon and way over mixed the filling overall so that it more closely resembled dough rather than damp sand. Oops. Well I wasn’t going to start all over again so I just hoped for the best.

The overall finished product was delicious. Both crispy and smooth at the same time. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough.

Armenian Nazook

Recipe from Jason’s Aunt Aida 

Makes: 20 pieces

Start to Finish:  90 minutes (+3-5 hours or overnight in the fridge)

Ingredients:

Dough

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour, sifted

1 1/4 teaspoon active dry yeast

1/2 cup sour cream

1/2 cup (1 stick) softened butter (room temperature)

Filling 

3/4 cup all purpose flour, sifted

3/4 cup sugar

6 tablespoons (3/4 stick) softened butter (room temperature)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/4 cup ground walnuts

1 egg yolk

Directions:

For the Dough:

1. Place sifted flour in a bowl. Add yeast and mix. Add sour cream and softened butter.

2. Using pastry cutter or your fingers work the mixture into a dough.

3. Continue to knead for 10 minutes or until dough no longer sticks to the bowl and your hands.

4. Place in a clean bowl, cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate 3-5 hours or overnight.

For the Filling:

1. Combine flour, sugar and butter in a bowl. Using a pastry cutter or your fingers mix.

2. Add vanilla extra and walnuts, mix until filling looks clumpy like damp sand.

Forming the Nazook:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Cut dough in half, roll one half into a bowl and place on lightly floured counter. Roll the dough out until it is thin but not transparent.

3. Spread half the filling over the dough (as close as possible to edges on the short side, and 1/2-1 inch away from the edge of the dough on the long side).

4. From the long side, slowly start rolling the dough up. Flatten the roll slightly and brush with the egg wash. Use a knife to cut the dough into 10 even pieces.

5. Place dough pieces on ungreased baking sheet. Repeat with other dough ball.

6. Bake 30 minutes, until tops are golden brown. Allow to cool.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. ilovetortilladepatatas permalink
    April 28, 2012 7:10 am

    They look really nice, Vicky!! Your subconscious mind must have helped you through so everything ended up delicious 😉
    I am jealous now, I should have baked them… 🙂

  2. April 28, 2012 10:14 am

    Vicky,your nazook look so delicious and I love yours pictures. 🙂

  3. April 28, 2012 9:39 pm

    Lol, well for someone who got the process slightly wrong (dw, do it allll the time!),your end result turned out oh-so-right! Looks fab and delish 🙂

  4. April 29, 2012 1:38 am

    I do that all the time! I actually did it with the nutmeg cake!
    your finished product looks super tempting and I can’t wait to try them

  5. April 30, 2012 6:52 pm

    I love “not too sweet but just sweet enough” pastries…and don’t get me started on walnuts…I literally have 3 pounds of walnuts at home ready to put in an excellent pastry like this. Gorgeous and tasty!

  6. May 1, 2012 7:19 am

    LOL success often results from a potential disaster!

    These look and sound super delicious, thanks.

    You are welcome to join in my monthly food blogger event THE SOUP KITCHEN, here offering a new theme each month. All bloggers are welcome, hope to see you participate soon.

  7. May 1, 2012 4:05 pm

    OMG I JUST SAW THIS!!!!!! my grandmother makes these too. I LOVE THEM. they look pretty good vicka 🙂

  8. brighteyedbaker permalink
    May 5, 2012 6:29 pm

    We used to buy these at an Armenian grocery store. I would love to try making them sometime. So glad I stumbled across this recipe 🙂

    • May 7, 2012 10:32 am

      They’re not too difficult to make and it looks like you can put your own spin on the filling!

  9. June 20, 2012 6:06 pm

    I love the video of your Aunt Aida showing how to make nazook. You’re a brave soul to taking on such an endeavor. I’ve been dragging my feet to try my grandma’s recipe, not sure why. Gotta get to it this w/end. Thanks for sharing your recipe. I’ll post mine as soon as I’ve got some to show.

    • June 21, 2012 9:00 am

      Hi Coco, the video is actually not of my aunt but of the aunt of the host of April’s Daring Bakers challenge! I should have clarified that in the post itself! The nazook was surprisingly not as difficult to make as I had expected and it freezes well so if you make a large batch you can freeze some of it for later!

Leave a comment