Skip to content

Lemon Artichoke Hummus

April 20, 2012

In college one of my roommates would make hummus and pesto all the time. And so when we all graduated and moved apart I dreamed of having my own food processor to be able to recreate such magical dips and spreads. When D bought me a food processor for my birthday these dreams could finally be fulfilled, and so I started making pesto and hummus all the time. First the traditional standard recipes and then I branched out by adding various ingredients. With that I present this lemon artichoke hummus. If you love artichokes you’re bound to like this. Very simple to make, keeps for days in the fridge and is a great snack with crackers, pita chips, vegetables, you name it. All you need is the hardware and a few key ingredients.

Lemon Artichoke Hummus

Recipe Adapated From Savour the Sense Blog 

Serves: 8-10

Start to Finish: 15-20 minutes

Ingredients:

1 14 ounce can chickpeas, rinses and drained

1 cup marinated artichoke hearts, chopped, divided

1/4 cup lemon juice

1/4 cup water

6 tablespoons tahini

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 -1 head roasted garlic

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon lemon zest

cayenne pepper and fresh parsley to garnish

Directions:

1. Combine water and lemon juice in bowl. In a separate bowl whisk together tahini and olive oil.

2. To the food processor add chickpeas, 3/4 cup artichoke hearts, garlic, lemon zest, and salt. Process until chickpeas mostly broken down – use a spatula to scrape down the sides of the bowl.

3. With processor running add lemon water through feed chute. Scrape down the sides of the bowl and continue to process for 1 minute.

4. Through the food chute with food processor running add tahini oil mixture and process until smooth.

5. Place hummus in a bowl, sprinkle with cayenne and parsley. Drizzle with extra olive oil before serving.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 5:53 pm

    Pardon me while I drool on your blog…

  2. April 20, 2012 7:06 pm

    cool, great photos – fun recipe.

  3. April 21, 2012 3:12 am

    I never thought of adding artichokes to hummus, but the idea sounds like it would work amazingly. I am going to try this today! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. ilovetortilladepatatas permalink
    April 21, 2012 5:51 am

    Love hummus, I am bit obsessed with it too 😉 I made artichoke dip a while ago, but I didn’t realize it could paired perfectly with chickpeas!

    My problem, basically, is that nobody around me likes artichoke so I have to make them just for me… well, actually I had 2 good friends who love artichoke. So, when I was living in Madrid the three of us celebrated “alcachofa’s night” sometimes 😀

    • April 24, 2012 10:34 am

      How could people not like artichokes?! They’re so goood! That’s great you guys would have “alcachofa’s nights.” Whenever I get together with my friends from studying abroad in Madrid we have Spanish nights with at the very least manchego, wine and jamon serrano but sometimes even tortilla and paella!

  5. April 21, 2012 9:00 pm

    Great blog. Beautiful photos, and loving all the vegetarian dishes! And of course, I’m a huge hummus fan.

    • April 24, 2012 10:32 am

      Thanks! I’ve been experimenting with various hummus flavors – loving basil hummus now!

  6. May 1, 2012 4:06 pm

    saw this on twitter. DEFINITELY making it asap.

Leave a comment