Skip to content

Quinoa with Corn and Black Beans

March 30, 2012

After a long week finally Friday has rolled around, and what better way to bring in the weekend than with a healthy, simple vegan recipe (or go straight for the crab rangoon if that’s how you celebrate cubicle freedom). After preparing my quinoa with artichokes and asparagus recipe several times in the last couple of  weeks I wanted to branch out to other quinoa combinations. This recipe is just as good – or better – according to D.

Although I don’t know how much we can trust his food critiques considering he quickly blurted out that this time the quinoa tasted different but he couldn’t figure out what I had changed. Well I simply replaced the artichokes, asparagus, kale, walnuts and parmesan, with corn, lime, black beans, cumin, and red wine vinegar  – but that’s it (cue sarcasm). In fact the only ingredients the two recipes have in common are quinoa and vegetable broth.  I need to get myself some new taste testers. Any volunteers?

Anyhow, to those of you with more refined taste buds you’ll notice the contrast between the two recipes. I’d go as far as to say this one has more of a Mexican flair as opposed to the other one being closer to Italian in flavor combinations. Either way both recipes make for a quick meal fix, that keeps well for days and can be heated or served cold.

Quinoa with Corn and Black Beans

Serves: 6-8

Start to Finish: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients:

2 cups uncooked organic pre-rinsed quinoa

2 1/2 cups vegetable broth

2 limes, zested and juiced

1 can black corn, rinsed and drained.

4 ears of corn

bunch of cilantro, chopped

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

1/2-1 teaspoon cumin

1 tablespoon olive oil

salt, pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Combine quinoa and broth in a pot. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cook, covered for 12-15 minutes. Remove from heat, fluff with a fork, cover and let sit for another 5 minutes. Fluff with a fork once more.

2. Spray a grill pan with cooking spray and over medium heat cook corn, turning occasionally until lightly charred. Using a knife slice corn kernels off the cob and place in a large bowl.

3. To large bowl add black beans, lime juice, zest, salt pepper, cilantro, cumin and red wine vinegar. Add cooked quinoa and olive oi. Stir until combined. Serve hot or cold.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 9:50 am

    Corn and black beans are one of my favorite combos. With quinoa you just made it better.

  2. April 4, 2012 5:09 pm

    Ooh, I love quinoa–this sounds so good! And soon fresh corn will be in season again too, so this is perfect for summer. 🙂

  3. April 17, 2012 1:10 pm

    Yum! I can’t help it, I am in love with quinoa! You’re giving me a lot of ideas, thanks 😀

    You have here a voluntary new tester 😉

  4. April 19, 2012 2:35 pm

    I saw this on Tastespotting and it looks delicious. I love corn and black bean salsa and I love quinoa. This is the perfect mix!

    • April 24, 2012 10:42 am

      With the lime juice and zest it makes for a light refreshing combination of flavors!

Leave a comment