Skip to content

Kale, White Bean and Tomato Soup

February 7, 2012

I’ve been seeing all these kale recipes lately and decided it was finally time I give it a whirl. I had never tried it before, for some reason fearing it might taste like licorice (fennel), which I loathe. Thankfully it tastes nothing like it, and is actually pretty good. My first attempt was at kale chips – which weren’t too bad but I think they’d be better with the curly kale (as opposed to the fan like dinosaur kale I bought). So with the remainder I settled on this soup. Quick and easy to make, light, healthy and delicious.

Kale, White Bean and Tomato Soup

Recipe Adapted from Bev Cooks 

Serves: 2-4

Start to Finish: 35 minutes

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons olive oil

2 shallots, diced

5 cloves garlic, minced

several dinosaur kale leaves, stem removed, sliced into ribbons

salt, pepper, to taste

1 tomato, grated

15 oz can white beans, rinsed and drained

4-5 cups vegetable or chicken broth

optional – freshly grated/shaved Parmesan

Directions:

1. In a large pot heat oil over medium heat. Add shallots and cook 3-4 minutes then add garlic and cook 1 minute.

2. Add kale, salt and pepper and cook for 2 minutes.

3. Add tomatoes and cook 2-3 minutes.

4. Add chicken/vegetable broth and beans. Bring to a boil then reduce heat and simmer, uncovered for 20 minutes.  (Optional – serve with freshly shaved/grated Parmesan).

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 12:56 pm

    I’m bookmarking this recipe! I’ve been looking for a great soup with kale… and this looks perfect! Thank you 🙂

Leave a comment