Skip to content

Daring Cooks November 2011 – Beef Braised in Tea with Sweet Potatoes

November 14, 2011

Another interesting daring cooks challenge. This month’s mandatory component – cooking with tea. The original recipe for the braised beef required roobios tea but seeing as how I didn’t have the motivation to search all over town for it – I chose a tazo black tea instead. The recipe came out well even though if I were to make it all over again I would double the meat for the same amount of potatoes. Or maybe even try it with regular potatoes instead. I have to admit I’m not a fan of sweet potatoes. I never buy them but figured I’d follow the recipe this time around and give them a second shot. And nope, apparently still not a fan. They’re just too sweet. It’s just not for me. So, although I did enjoy making this dish and the combination of flavors – cinnamon, orange peel, ginger – was very interesting I think next time I’ll stick to my go to beef stew with [savory] potatoes.

No comments yet

Leave a comment