Skip to content

Green Tea Ice Cream

April 13, 2011

I thought I really loved the oreo and then the strawberry ice cream, but I was wrong. The one I truly love is this green tea ice cream. Such a great flavor. I guess it does depend on your taste preferences though. For example, D loves the strawberry gelato and cookies and cream ice cream and doesn’t care for this green tea flavor at all. I, on the other hand, would permanently give up both the strawberry and oreo if I could have a never ending supply of this one. It’s just so refreshing and light. After finding various recipes I decided to try this one. A lot of recipes included eggs and I’m not sure I’m ready to make ice cream using eggs (yet). This recipe calls for a “heaping” tablespoon of the matcha powder and they’re not kidding, make sure you use an overflowing tablespoon. I did not add the “heap” to the spoon and the green tea flavor wasn’t as strong as I would have liked. It wasn’t an issue though – I just added some crushed pistachios to make up for it : )

Green Tea Ice Cream

Recipe from Cooking to Procrastinate

Serves: 4-6

Start to Finish: 40-50 minutes (most of it is waiting time)

Ingredients:

1 cups heavy cream

1 cups whole milk

1/2 cup sugar

1 heaping tablespoon matcha powder

dash of vanilla extract

 

Directions:

1. Using a whisk mix milk, sugar and matcha powder. Make sure the powder completely dissolves. Add the heavy cream and vanilla extract. Mix well.

2. Place in freezer for 15-30 minutes and then pour mixture into ice cream machine and follow manufacturer’s directions.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 4:13 pm

    I love green tea..my favorite is morrocan mint green tea…
    can I use that instead of matcha?

    • April 14, 2011 4:19 pm

      The matcha is the green tea powder. What do you use to make the moroccan mint green tea?

  2. August 9, 2011 1:44 pm

    Awesome! I tried making a green tea ice cream a while back but the flavor didn’t come through. Maybe the matcha will help!

Leave a comment