Skip to content

Flank Steak Stir Fry with Scallions and Ginger

April 1, 2011

https://avocadopesto.wordpress.com/wp-admin/edit.phpLately I’ve been in the mood for stir fry. And by in the mood I mean I’ve already made it 3 times this week. All new recipes too. This one I made last night and was really pleased with. Some stir fry dishes are loaded with lots of vegetables (and therefore yield more colorful photos) but I liked this one because I was just looking for a great sauce and marinade with some meat. And that’s exactly what I got. The original recipe called for scallions and garlic, but I knew adding ginger to the mix would only make it better. The sauce/marinade calls for both hoisin and oyster as well as soy sauce. Oyster sauce is another one of those that smells awful to me in the jar but adds a unique and pleasant flavor to the finished product. One helpful hint – as I’ve said before – to easily thinly slice the flank steak put it in the freezer for 15-20 minutes first.

Flank Steak Stir Fry with Scallions and Ginger

Recipe Adapted from Amanda’s Cooking

Serves: 3

Start to Finish: 25-30 minutes

Ingredients:

1 pound flank steak, thinly sliced (against the grain)

2 tablespoons oyster sauce

1 tablespoon mirin

2 teaspoons cornstarch

3 tablespoons canola oil, divided

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 inch piece of ginger, cut into matchsticks

4 dried chilis, chopped

6 green onion, sliced on the diagonal into 2 inch pieces

4 tablespoons hoisin sauce

2 tablespoons low sodium soy sauce

 

1. Combine oyster sauce, cornstarch and mirin and mix until smooth. Add sliced steak to marinade mixture, making sure all of it is coated. Let marinate for 15 minutes.

2. In a wok heat 2 tablespoons of canola oil over high heat. Add half the steak slices and stir fry 2-3 minutes, lightly browning on both sides. Place cooked steak in separate bowl. Add remaining steak and repeat.

3. Add remaining canola oil and reduce heat to medium. Add garlic, stir fry for a few seconds then add dried chilis and stir fry for a few more seconds. Add green onions and ginger, stir fry 1 minutes.

4. Add steak back to wok along with hoisin and soy sauce. Mix and remove from heat.

5. Serve with steamed rice and a drizzle of soy sauce.

Flank Steak on FoodistaFlank Steak

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2011 2:47 pm

    Looks marvelous, so glad you liked it! Now I’m heading over to bookmark that cashew chicken! I just posted a peppercorn pork stir fry too that was delish, if you’re still in the stir fry mood 🙂

  2. April 3, 2011 6:56 pm

    Looks really good.I followed you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this flank steak widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about recipes for flank steak,Thanks!

  3. April 4, 2011 11:29 am

    Love flank steak and this recipe looks easy and delicious! I’ll def be trying it. Would fish sauce be a good substitute for oyster sauce? By the way, love the look of the blog – very clean and inviting. =)

    • April 4, 2011 11:31 am

      Thanks! I don’t think fish sauce would be a good substitute – the consistency and flavor are very different – but if you do try it with the fish sauce let me know how it turns out!

Leave a comment