Skip to content

Heath Walnut Cookies

December 6, 2010

For me the worst part about cooking is the clean up afterwards. It’s sheer torture. And as if I’m trying to make it harder on myself I always end up making a huge mess every time I cook. Fortunately, when I’m at my parent’s house grandma is quite the dish washer/counter wiper and Nika, the dog, is the most efficient vacuum/floor sweeper.  At my apartment though, I have neither grandma nor the dog to help me out. I do admit my boyfriend does do his fair share of clean-up but it’s not the same as the cleaning crew I have at my parent’s house. These cookies do require a bit of clean up, mainly because you’re using multiple bowls, cutting boards, measuring cups, etc. Yet I’ve made these twice already – the second time more enjoyable than the first because grandma had already cleaned everything up before I could even offer to help! That and the second time I just bought a bag of heath bar bits, whereas before I had manually chopped up each heath bar into tiny little pieces. I didn’t taste a difference in flavor and you do save yourself the risk of accidentally chopping off one of your fingers.

Recipe adapted from Simply Recipes

Ingredients

2 1/2 cups flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

1  cup white sugar

1/2 cup brown sugar

2 eggs, room temperature

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups heath toffee bits (11.2 ounces)

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

Directions:

1. In a bowl mix together heath bits and chopped walnuts.  In separate bowl sift together flour, salt and baking powder.

2. In a separate bowl beat together butter and sugar until combined. Beat in eggs, one at a time, until incorporated and vanilla.

3. Mix in heath/walnut and flour mixture, half of each at a time, until combined. Place cookie dough in refrigerator for 1 hour.

4. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. On lightly greased cookie sheet scoop out 1 tablespoon sized cookie dough balls, placing them a couple inches apart.

5. Bake 10-12 minutes. Let cookies cool on sheet for a couple of minutes then remove.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kiryl B permalink
    December 6, 2010 2:41 pm

    Lol @ grandma doing chores and Nika licking everything off. Quite a team.

Leave a comment