Skip to content

Sunny Side Up Eggs with Mushrooms, Tomatoes and Onions (яичница)

April 5, 2012

I’m not a big breakfast or brunch person (well except for my love of bacon of course – but I think that’s perfectly appropriate to munch on all day). Generally I have no problems eating leftover pizza, beef stew, puff pastry tarts etc , but if I am going to make myself a real breakfast meal this is in my top 3. Not much of a recipe per say, just some pointers on what goes well together. I don’t even remember the first time I had this so it must have been the pre-school years at least. When I lived at home my mom used to make this – with the eggs runny for her and dad – and more shaken up and scrambled for me – now that’s what I call full service. I just never caught on to the whole goopy splurp your eggs with a spoon phenomenon (eek) – I don’t want mine jiggling all over the plate when the table shakes. I’ll let you decide how you prefer your eggs though. Make sure to add the bread as a nice little border for this picturesque meal. I like it best with  Russian black (rye) bread but I’ll forgive you if you just use regular white (as I had to this time around).

Sunny Side Up Eggs with Mushrooms, Tomatoes and Onions

Serves: 2

Start to Finish: 20-30 minutes

Ingredients:

4 eggs

handful of button mushrooms, sliced

1 small tomato, sliced

1/2 onion, thinly sliced

sunflower oil

1-2 pieces bread, cut into matchsticks

salt, pepper to taste

fresh basil, slivered

Parmesan, grated

Directions:

1. In a large pan heat oil over medium heat. Along the pan’s perimeter place bread pieces, filling up all the empty places. In the middle add sliced onion and cook, stirring occasionally for a few minutes.

2. Add sliced mushrooms to the onions and cook for a few minutes. Add sliced tomatoes in a single layer and cook for a few minutes.

3. Flip the bread pieces over (add more oil to the pan if it’s getting dry). Crack the eggs over the pan in 4 separate areas. Scramble them up a little with a fork if you don’t like them runny.

4. Reduce heat to medium low, and cook until eggs are set. Season with salt and pepper. Sprinkle with parmsan and basil. Remove from heat and enjoy!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2012 1:31 am

    Looks great!

  2. Arthi permalink
    April 6, 2012 12:39 pm

    I STILL have yet to make this even half as good as you do!!

  3. April 6, 2012 7:20 pm

    Funny, I just posted something Russian myself. 😉
    It is 1.15 am here now and I feel like I should go to bed asap so I can enjoy your eggs in the morning. haha
    I like my eggs a little on the waxy side but too jiggly and all I can think of is RAW, so yeah, pretty much the same here. 🙂 And while we’re at it: Black bread would also be my first choice, so it seems like we’re having a lot in common, here.

    Cheers,
    Tobias

    • April 10, 2012 11:12 am

      Let me know if you try this! I absolutely love black bread and was pretty impressed that the daring bakers recipe for black bread was so simple to make yet so close to the black bread I’ve bought from Russian food stores. Very funny that we both posted Russian recipes on the same day!

  4. April 9, 2012 10:22 pm

    This looks delicious! I’m not a huge sunnyside up person (can’t get past the idea of eating runny eggs) but I’d try these just because of your fab pictures.

    • April 10, 2012 11:10 am

      Thanks! Feel free to scramble the eggs up a little – that’s what I always do – just push the sides through so the raw top part seeps to the bottom of the pan – that way it all cooks through.

  5. April 10, 2012 2:36 pm

    Looks delicious! I also do something very similar, often with tomatoes and onions, but usually with whatever veggies and greens are needing some extra love 🙂

  6. April 17, 2012 1:07 pm

    I am a breakfast person, I love to start the day with a good meal (if possible)! Eggs are one of my favorite ingredients for it 😉

    By the way, what does the russian word mean? Is the bread you mention?

    • April 18, 2012 3:29 pm

      The russian word just translates to sunny side up eggs but a lot of times people add vegetables/bread to this dish to make it more interesting.

Leave a comment